Logo

Knowledge
Transfer

Knowledge transfer between Switzerland and Nepal in the rescue sector is a major challenge and responsibility.

Rescue Operations in the death zone

In 2005, a team from Zermatt traveled to Pakistan to rescue a Slovenian extreme climber who had been stuck for five days.

The same climber needed help again in 2009, this time in the Nepalese Langtang Lirung massif at 6000 meters above sea level. The rescue was successful, but the unfortunate mountaineer has died since then. It was the first direct rescue in Nepal. From that time on, the expedition leaders and trekking guides knew that Air Zermatt's alpine rescue technology could even be used in the Himalayas up to 6950 meters above sea level. In discussions with the Nepalese authorities and helicopter companies, it quickly became clear that we had to act: If Air Zermatt would only put a team on standby for the peak season, which would only travel to Nepal if necessary to carry out any rescue operations, then we could, at most, recover corpses. So, there was only one option for us: We had to train the Nepalese pilots and mountain rescuers. This "knowledge transfer" was made possible thanks to the generous support of the Zermatt Emergency Medical Center, the community of Zermatt, our main sponsor Hamilton, many private donors and, of course, Air Zermatt.

Mountain Rescue Trainings

Since the end of 2011, Nepal has had an independent, operational and efficient rescue team. We train the Simrik Air rescue crew in Nepal, compile theory and training documents adapted to the country, and are available day and night as advisors to our pilot colleagues in difficult rescue situations. The rescue team’s standard of safety can only be continuously improved through regular training and further education.

Gerold Biner, CEO of Air Zermatt AG

The Earth C-Air Association

The Earth C-Air association was founded in 2015 in the wake of the devastating earthquake in Nepal. Since we are familiar with the region in the Himalayas through several training missions, we feel committed to helping locally. Earth C-Air is a non-profit association with the following mission:

  • Training and further education of mountain rescuers, in the air and on the ground
  • Global relief, development aid and humanitarian assistance
  • Promotion of social and medical projects
  • Further information and activities can be found at www.earth-c-air.com

We are very grateful for the united and spontaneous support – many thanks!

Shopping cart

Shopping cart

There are no articles in your cart.

All prices in CHF, including VAT, excluding shipping costs.

Logo

Know-how
Transfer

Der Know-how Transfer Schweiz – Nepal im Rettungswesen ist eine grosse Herausforderung sowie Verantwortung.

Rettungseinsätze in der Todeszone

2005 reiste eine Mannschaft aus Zermatt nach Pakistan, um einen seit fünf Tagen blockierten slowenischen Extrembergsteiger zu retten.

Derselbe Bergsteiger benötigte 2009 erneut Hilfe, diesmal im nepalesischen Langtang-Lirung-Massiv auf 6000 Metern über Meer. Die Rettung glückte zwar, aber der unglückliche Bergsteiger ist inzwischen verstorben. Es war die erste Direktrettung in Nepal. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt wussten die Expeditionsleiter und Trekkingführer, dass die alpine Rettungstechnik der Air Zermatt sogar im Himalaya bis auf 6950 Metern über Meer anwendbar ist. In Gesprächen mit den nepalesischen Behörden und Helikopterfirmen wurde schnell klar, dass wir etwas unternehmen mussten: Würde die Air Zermatt nämlich jeweils zur Hauptsaison hin einfach nur ein Team auf Standby setzen, welches erst im Bedarfsfall nach Nepal reist, um allfällige Rettungen durchzuführen, so könnten wir aber höchstens noch Leichen bergen. Daher gab es für uns einzig eine Möglichkeit: Wir mussten die nepalesischen Piloten und Bergretter ausbilden. Dieser «Know-how-Transfer» konnte dank grosszügiger Unterstützung der Rettungsstation Zermatt, der Gemeinde Zermatt, unseres Hauptsponsors Hamilton, vieler privater Spender und natürlich der Air Zermatt realisiert werden.

Bergretter Trainings

Seit Ende 2011 verfügt Nepal über ein unabhängiges, operationelles und effizientes Rettungsteam. Wir trainieren die Rettungscrew der Simrik-Air in Nepal, erstellen auf das Land angepasste Theorie- und Ausbildungsunterlagen und stehen unseren Pilotenkollegen bei schwierigen Rettungen als Ratgeber Tag und Nacht zur Verfügung. Nur mit regelmässigen Ausbildungs- und Weiterbildungseinsätzen kann der Sicherheits-Standard der Rettungsmannschaft stetig erhöht werden.

Gerold Biner, CEO der Air Zermatt AG

der Verein Earth C-Air

2015 wurde der Verein Earth C-Air anlässlich des verheerenden Erdbebens in Nepal gegründet. Da wir die Region im Himalaya von mehreren Ausbildungs-Einsätzen gut kennen fühlen wir uns zum Helfen vor Ort verpflichtet. Earth C-Air ist ein nichtgewinnorientierter Verein mit folgendem Zweck:

  • Aus- und Weiterbildung von Bergrettern, fliegerisch und terrestrisch
  • Globale Katastrophen- und Entwicklungshilfe und humanitäre Unterstützung
  • Förderung von sozialen und medizinischen Projekten
  • Weitere Informationen und Aktivitäten finden Sie unter www.earth-c-air.com

Wir freuen uns sehr über die solidarischen und spontanen Unterstützungen – Herzlichen Dank!

Warenkorb

Warenkorb

Es befinden sich keine Artikel im Warenkorb.

Alle Preise verstehen sich in CHF inkl. MWST exkl. Versandkosten.